My beautiful friend

An emptiness follows me,
a shallow remnant of a lost soul,
flickering and wavering,
like an ice cold flame,
at the summit of the universe

I can’t recall the moments,
the triggers and changes,
that stopped the darkness chasing me,
and made it walk by my side,
out of breath,
exhausted from chasing all through my life

But still there

I turn to face the nothing,
and I reach out with something other than,
the anger, the sadness, the pain,
I hold it close and express my love,
of who it was and who I am,
and how we’ve become,
together

I walk into the light,
and the darkness holds my hand,
I whisper reassurance,
it will all be okay,
and I drag and cajole and encourage the shadow to come with me,
to give me the context I need

The shadow in the light
The darkness in the sunshine
The one that makes this brightness shine
Intense
Free
Alive

Leave a comment